Not surprisingly, the 1900s are dominated by high NBv speedsters, with each leader averaging between 25 and 64 stolen bases per season. As such, all but in 1908, a player easily averaged more than one base gained per plate appearance, with Philadelphia’s star Nap Lajoie topping everybody in 1901 with one and quarter bases per. He hit .426 that year by the way. Famed New York Giants manager, John McGraw, ushered in the turn of the century as a player for the St. Louis Cardinals on the strength of a .505 OBP. Honus Wagner separated himself as the premiere star of the era, leading in Total Base Value four times. However, that would pale in comparison to the man who was about to tear open the league. In 1909, Ty Cobb lead for the first time in his career. He would go on to lead the an incredible seven more times in the following decade. (Click each year for full leaderboard.)

1900 – John McGraw, 1.128

1901 – Nap Lajoie, 1.256

1902 – Ed Delahanty, 1.056

1903 – Mike Donlin, 1.046

1904 – Honus Wagner, 1.036

1905 – Honus Wagner, 1.070

1906 – Frank Chance, 1.044

1907 – Honus Wagner, 1.010

1908 – Honus Wagner, .956

1909Ty Cobb, 1.066

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: